Allo' Expat Sweden - Connecting Expats in Sweden
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Sweden Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Sweden
Sweden General Information
Sweden Expatriates Handbook
Useful Numbers
Immigration Information
  Entry Visa
Work Permit
Sweden and Foreign Government
Sweden General Listings
Sweden Useful Tips
Sweden Education & Medical
Sweden Travel & Tourism Info
Sweden Lifestyle & Leisure
Sweden Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Sweden Immigration Information Entry Visa


Nationals in the majority of countries outside the EU, require a visa to visit Sweden and the other Schengen countries. This is a decision reached by Sweden together with the other EU countries.

In Sweden it is the Schengen Agreement visa rules that apply. Henceforth, EU nationals are only required to produce evidence of their EU nationality and identity in order to be admitted to any EU Member State. This evidence can take the form of a valid national passport or national identity card. Either is acceptable.

The Schengen Agreement means, among other things, that the Schengen countries, i.e. Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Germany, Austria, Norway and Iceland, have abolished border controls for persons travelling between these countries. A visa granted by any one of these countries is also valid for visits to the other countries. In exceptional cases the visa could be valid only for entry into the issuing country or only for certain countries if the holder's passport is not approved by all the Schengen countries.

However, a visa does not mean that the holder is automatically entitled to enter the Schengen area. This right is examined each time he/she passes the outer border of the Schengen area.

At the border control everyone who enters the area must be able to show that they have money for their keep during their visit and for their return journey home and that they have medical travel insurance and documents showing the purpose of their visit.

The issuing of Schengen visas is discretionary and depends on consideration of each individual case, including purpose of visit and intention to return. A Schengen visa is not appropriate if you wish to remain in a Schengen country for longer than three months, to take up employment, to establish a business or to enter a trade or profession.

Nationals requiring Visa

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua & Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan, The Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Rep, Chad, China, People’s Rep (excl Hong Kong & Macau), Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Dem. Rep, Congo, Rep, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Rep, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (North), Kuwait, Kyrgystan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar (Burma), Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Nothern Mariana Islands, Oman, Pakistan, Palau Islands, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tomé & Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Surinam, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

See more information on the next page... (next)





copyrights ©
2018 | Policy